This is a guide on your Settings page. Please check the Accountant Settings Page guide if you are on the accountant plan.
Click the profile on the top right of the page. Then, you can see the Settings button on the drop-down menu.
The Settings page looks like this.
Note: User's will only be able to see the Integrations option if they have a paid account.
Under Settings, there are some tabs on the sidebar:
See below for how to manage these settings.
The email is your account. Changing the email will change your account and where the payment notifications are sent to. Note: If you decide to change your email, you can only use an email that is not currently associated with CTC.
You can change your name here. This will show on the generated reports.
This can not be changed once you have chosen the Country and paid for the plan.
This depends on your Country's setting and can not be changed by itself.
Currently, we support English, Deutsch, and Español. More languages to come. 😉
You can change your password here.
Your account will remain, but the data imported will be deleted. You can use this feature if you want to start from scratch.
Note: This action cannot be undone.
By permanently deleting your account, all your data will be removed from our system, the subscription will be canceled, and you will be logged out. Please contact support via the in-app chat box if you regret it and decide to resume your subscription and account in seven days.
It is recommended to leave this toggle as is, unless you are having issues with the Transaction page table 'sliding' or showing other strange behaviours.
Portfolio & Tax
Note: The default settings are recommended depending on your tax jurisdiction. Switching the toggles or changing the value will affect your reports. So ensure to consult with a tax professional for any changes.
Use the ‘Refresh Calculations’ feature to force the system to refresh all of it's calculations. The system will do this automatically as you use the app, so it is not necessary to do manually. It can be used to attempt to fix issues should they arise.
This is set up as the default option of your tax jurisdiction. You can change this setting here or on the Reports page. Always check with your tax professional before using another inventory method. Read our relevant guides for more details:
CryptoTaxCalculator will auto-match the timestamps in your transactions to the timezone you choose.
Cost Basis Tracking
Use this setting to change how the cost basis is tracked. For example, with the First In First Out inventory method, the below trades are made:
Day 1: Buy 1 ETH on Coinbase for $4000
Day 45: Buy 1 ETH on Binance for $3000
Day 90: Sell 1 ETH on Binance for $2000
If you choose:
Cost basis will be tracked universally across all wallets and exchanges.
In this case, on the day 90, your capital gain is $2,000 - $4,000 = - $2,000
By wallet and exchange
Cost basis is tracked by wallet and exchange. This means that there may be multiple cost bases for an asset based on the purchase price where the currency was purchased.
In this case, on the day 90, your capital gain is $2,000 - $3,000 = -$1,000 on Binance
For in-depth guides on the above settings please visit the Toggles Article Collection.
Long Term Threshold
You can customize your long-term threshold here. This is the time period an asset is held before the gains will be considered as a long term capital gain. This is set to a default by region and changing this setting might affect your Capital Gains Report.
Price Fallback Window
As the description suggests, this feature allows our software to assume a price if one is missing. The conditions are based on the timeframe between two of the same asset, and this timeframe can be changed here.
Adjust Balance Accuracy
This feature provides some leeway to ignore balance remaining issues below a certain fiat threshold because of decimal place rounding issues. This is usually caused by exchange transaction data that has been rounded up.
You can check your current plan and the subscription period here. Click ‘Manage Subscription’ will open up a new tab where you can manage and review your payment details and subscription and download the receipts and invoices. Read our guides for more information:
You can check the invitation status that was sent by your accountant here. The page will look similar to the below image if you don’t have an invitation.
If you have accepted the invitation from your accountant, you can see your accountant’s email address.
You can revoke your accountant's access here. However, if the working data is the accountant's side of the data, you will lose access to the edited data. You will only be able to see the data you’ve imported from your side before your accountant invited you. Read this guide for more details.
You can select a shared data source between you and your accountant. Once selected, both you and your accountant can only see and edit that side of the data. Ensure to select the right side before you start working on the reconciliations. Read this guide for more details: